Why I preach to myself

My heart frequently condemn David Pinckney.  He is no good. Certainly not good enough for God.  He fails too often.  He can’t keep the good laws of God.  But when my heart condemns me, I preach to myself “there is now no condemnation to those in Christ Jesus”  Romans 8:1 and “God is greater than our hearts”  1 John 3:20.    Some days i’m just overwhelmed by despair.  My mind is weighed down with problems.  I want to hide under the covers and pretend it will all go away.  But then I preach to myself, “Come unto me all you who are weary and heavy laden, and I will give you rest”  Matthew 11:28-29 and “Cast all your cares on the Lord because he cares for you” 1 Peter 5:7.   Yes, I need to hear the gospel over and over and over again.  I need to hear that Jesus has taken all my condemnation.  I need to hear he is a friend of sinners Matthew 11:19.  While I’m not a great preacher I do benefit from hearing myself preach the good news that Jesus is all I need.

Leave a Reply

